A good friend of mine (who also runs her own business; Life I Design) asked me a great question last night about workouts for females.  I thought this was all over the internet but it turns out, it was very difficult for her to find so naturally I took to my blog so we women can discuss how to get long, lean muscles without bulking up.  Women tend to be afraid of bulking up when they workout but the truth is, unless you are training for strength, taking supplements and eating an abundant amount of food,  it is highly unlikely that you will bulk up.

To get long, lean muscle you should be aiming to complete 12-15 repetitions (endurance training) using a weight that will make you fatigue by the last couple of reps.  So yes, you would be using a lighter weight but it should still feel challenging if you want to see any gains.

If you’re looking to bulk up, you would train for strength.  This consists of a heavier weight at 6-8 reps fatiguing on your last couple of reps.  You may want to have a spotter on hand for this type of training.

The amount of sets you do will vary based on the training goals you have.  There is a whole mix of training styles you can do based on these basic principles but I’ll leave that up to the discretion of your trainer…..or myself, if you choose to be trained by me.  =)

So that’s the basics of choosing how many reps you should be completing for your workouts!

If you have any other questions about working out please feel free to comment or e-mail me.  I’d love to hear from you as fitness is my passion and I love talking about it!

