It’s not typical that you’ll spot me wearing make-up on a daily basis but I do like to be girly once in a while.  Make-up just isn’t something I make a point of putting on every day because I know I’m going to sweat and would either have to wipe it all off or re-apply after I teach my classes.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE playing with colour and makeup is just so much fun but I need to be realistic for my everyday life.

I thought I would keep this post light and fun and show you what my favorite products are.  I try to use mineral based products that are all natural as I know it is penetrating my skin. I don’t want euthanized pets, roadkill, and diseased livestock going through my pores and circulating in my blood stream.  That just doesn’t sound pleasant right?  Sorry to paint such a graphic picture but I feel very strongly about what we put on our body as much as what we put in our body.  Would you eat the aforementioned? Then why would you want to put it on your body?  Makeup is just as important as the personal care products we use and the food we eat.  So here are my top 5 products that I use for a daytime look.

Arbonne Makeup Primer

Arbonne Makeup Primer

Your look all starts with how your makeup will sit on your skin.  Primer helps to fill in creases and smooth out your complexion so your makeup (primarily foundation and eyeshadow) look flawless.  It prevents the makeup from sitting in those creases and visually diminishes fine lines and pores.  This product has peptides that just burst open in your lines and pores evening out your skin beautifully.  Have you ever seen someone smile and you can see the makeup filling in the crow’s feet beside their eyes?  This is what can happen when you don’t use a primer.

Motives Liquid Powder Mineral Foundation-Cream Beige

Motives Foundation

Everyone has a different preference for liquid vs powder foundation.  Whatever works for you will be best for you.  I prefer a liquid foundation and have found that Motives really works for me.  This is an exclusive multi-mineral complex which helps to protect the skin.  It contains Vitamin E & C which provides antioxidant protection and Vitamin A which conditions the skin. Make sure to match your skin tone first.  How do you do that?  First you need to see if you have cool skin or warm skin.  You can tell this by the colour of your veins on the inside of your wrist.  Best to consult a make-up artist about this as this is totally not my specialty.  Once you’ve found your colour make sure to spread it evenly.  I like to use a cream foundation brush to apply mine but you can use your fingers if you prefer that too.

Motives Blush Bronze Duo

Motives Bluch Bronzer Duo

I have to say that this is the best purchase I have ever made.  Not only do you get the sun-kissed glow from the bronzer but you get a hint of pink for the blush too.  And for a more dramatic effect you can take a blush brush and apply a small amount to the apples of your cheeks to play up your features and give you a bit more colour.  This works on all skin types and colours which makes it an amazing product.  Soft texture in a satin-smooth non-irritant formula.

Benefit Powder Eyeshadow-It’s Complicated

Benefit EyeShadow

This long wearing eyeshadow is a subtle pink hue.  It’s a clean, fresh daytime look and if you want to add a contour colour in your crease it can practically be paired with anything.  Eyeshadow is the fun part of make-up because you can dress your eyes up depending on whether it’s daytime or evening and based on the mood you’re in.

Arbonne Mascara-It’s a Long Story

Arbonne Mascara

No eyes are complete without polishing them off with mascara.  Black completes the look and makes your eyes look bigger and makes your lashes more ultra-dramatic.

Arbonne Lip Polish-Posh

Arbonne lip polish

To polish off your look I like to use gloss as it’s simple and easy to apply and re-apply.  A pinky tone is what finishes off my daytime look to give my lips a bit of shine and a tiny bit of colour.  This line of polish helps to hydrate your lips which is super important on a daily basis, especially in the winter.

You’ve seen my whole look, now share yours.  What are your favorite makeup products to use?  Leave me a comment.

