Today I decided to wear a more vibrant outfit then I normally wear. Often in the fitness industry you are required to wear black because it’s more ‘business like’. I understand that it does look more professional but you also get lost in the many other people wearing black. Why not take a risk and stand out by adding a pop of colour to your daily attire? I have noticed that you definitely get more people staring at you but hopefully it’s a positive stare instead of, “what the heck is she wearing?”

I used to be very colourful back in the day and since working I felt that to be taken seriously I had to dress the part. All black and no funky colours in my hair (as was my look in high school). Also, I knew if I wanted larger opportunities I would have to look serious and not like a teenager (as I often get told I look like), not to mention I was 19 when I completed my program. Then becoming a Mom, it’s easy to get used to throwing on sweats and a comfy sweatshirt. (I can see all of the Mom’s nodding now!)

After today I honestly feel a bit more confident and carry myself differently due to the wardrobe change. I feel like I have found me again that was once lost. Trying to discover who you are and where you fit in the human race can be challenging and scary but taking risks is what gets you anywhere in life. My theory, be who you are and others will come to accept you….as long as it doesn’t go against your works code of ethics.

My goal each week is to wear a colourful piece and not get lost in the darkness. Will you take the challenge with me? Post your colourful outfit and use the hashtag #Fizzique on your instagram or Twitter account. I’ll be posting mine and doing it together will make you that much more confident.

Here is what I wore today!

20130416-165207.jpg

Have a fit day!

Alexis Gradini Advanced Diploma FLMP, CSEP-CPT, CanFitPro-FIS, CPR, First-Aid
fizzique@bell.net
http://www.fizzique.ca
Twitter: @TrainFizzique
Facebook Page: Fizzique Personal Training

